Review

TV Review: Downton Abbey (Seasons 1-6)

dabA chronicle of the lives of the aristocratic Crawley family and their servants in the post-Edwardian era—with great events in history having an effect on their lives and on the British social hierarchy.


Downton Abbey is a fantastic TV show that begs to be binge watched. I’m betting a lot of you have already watched this show, but for those of you who haven’t, it comes highly recommended. Start watching one episode and you’ll be hooked, and won’t want to stop watching.

I must post a PSA warning though: don’t try to Google anything about this show or you will more likely than not end up with spoilers. It happened to me more times than I’d have liked and I’m usually very good at avoiding spoilers. For most shows spoilers aren’t made so obvious – I’ve been on tumblr and read articles from other shows that I’ve been behind on and only came across mild spoilers. But, for whatever reason, with Downton, big spoilers are made obvious, so do yourselves a favour and stay away.

Downton Abbey truly makes the most of its time setting and provides you with not only a visual feast of the period, but also pulls in just the right amount of history. From the sinking of the Titanic, to World War II, from electricity to radios, Downton Abbey is all about changing times and attitudes. You can revel in the parade of changing fashions and customs – a glimpse into another era. Apart from one plot line that really annoyed me in season 5 (if you’ve watched it you probably know what I’m referring to) the show remains historically accurate.

Yet, what really makes it a brilliant show is the acting. With its exceptional cast and excellent characterization, Downton contains some of the best acting I’ve seen. The carefully crafted relationships and personalities are truly the heart of the show. Witty banter and hilarious one-liners abound – I literally laughed my way through every episode. From the romantic to the deeply sad to the happy, perhaps Downton can best be described as not just a period drama, but the chronicling of the everyday lives of all kinds of people. From the maids and footmen to the lords and ladies, every character’s story is granted equal consideration and development. The character arcs from the first episode to the last are brilliant in their subtlety – yet all grow and change in fascinating ways.

Downton Abbey is a show that is captivating and memorable. I’m sad that it’s over – I could have happily spent many more seasons with these characters – but I’m really hoping the movie epilogue will come to fruition. I’d love to see where all the characters are at in 10 or so years time!

Highly recommended.

4 thoughts on “TV Review: Downton Abbey (Seasons 1-6)

  1. I watched Grand Hotel on Netflix which is a Spanish show a little like Downton Abbey and had the urge to watch DA but then I stopped for some reason..your review made me want to restart it again! I’m a sucker for hilarious and witty banter =)

  2. I love Downton abbey so much! I also love how strict they were with sticking to the time period- the actresses weren’t allowed to wear any mascara, pluck their eyebrows or anything because it would ruin the look. I love shows that have a great plot and are also so aesthetically on point!!

    1. Agreed! I really respect their attention to detail. It’s also great to see actors and actresses who look like normal people unlike most shows where everyone looks like a model. The acting and time period were the focus, as they should be.

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

