Bookmarked Thoughts

Bookmarked Thoughts: Most Anticipated 2016 (January to May)

 

futureWhere Futures End by Parker Peevyhouse

Release Date: February 9th

Why I can’t wait to read it: The cover intrigued me, and the blurb sold me. It sounds unconventional, mind blowing, thought provoking… basically my kind of book.

From the blurb: Five teens. Five futures. Two worlds. One ending.
One year from now, Dylan develops a sixth sense that allows him to glimpse another world… And more than a hundred years from now, Quinn uncovers the alarming secret that links them all. Five people, divided by time, will determine the fate of us all. These are stories of a world bent on destroying itself, and of the alternate world that might be its savior–unless it’s too late.

amulet

Firelight (Amulet #7) by Kazu Kibuishi

Release Date: February 23rd

Why I can’t wait to read it: Amulet was the first graphic novel I read in an attempt to get into the genre. And it was certainly a great place to start. It’s a wonderful fantasy tale that grabs you from the opening scene. Since then, I’ve read all of Kibuishi’s works and am looking forward the the final Amulet novel.

From the blurb: Emily, Trellis, and Vigo visit Algos Island, where they can access and enter lost memories. They’re hoping to uncover the events of Trellis’s mysterious childhood — knowledge they can use against the Elf King. What they discover is a dark secret that changes everything. Meanwhile, the voice of Emily’s Amulet is getting stronger, and threatens to overtake her completely.

death

Death Weavers (The Five Kingdoms #4) by Brandon Mull

Release Date: March 15th

Why I can’t wait to read it: Mull’s Beyonders  trilogy is counted among my all time favourite series. The Five Kingdoms has been really awesome so far, highly imaginative and action-packed. I’m super excited to see what Mull will think up next!

From the blurb: Cole and his friends have made it to the fourth of the five kingdoms that comprise the Outskirts—Necronum, land of the dead. New allies and new dangers await…

raven

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

Release Date: April 26th

Why I can’t wait to read it: Stiefvater has a way with words and characters that is truly magical. My favourite of her books is the The Scorpio Races, but her Raven Cycle quartet is incredible. They are filled with brilliant characterizations, infused with ancient magic and lush, lyrical writing. And that cover is absolutely gorgeous.

From the blurb: All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

star

The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey

Release Date: May 24th

Why I can’t wait to read it: Yancey is one of my favourite authors. His Monstrumologist quartet was a brilliant, haunting examination of the darkness of humanity. The first two books in The 5th Wave trilogy have been outstanding, creepy and twisted. I want The Last Star more than any other book on this list because I need to know where Yancey will take this story next and have no doubt that it will be outstanding.

From the blurb: We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

2 thoughts on “Bookmarked Thoughts: Most Anticipated 2016 (January to May)

  1. I hadn’t heard of that first book until now, but you’ve got me intrigued! I’m excited on everyone’s behalf for the Raven King, but I still need to get around to reading the rest of the series…

    1. It looks really interesting! Kind of reminds me of The Ghosts of Heaven which I loved.

      You really should read The Raven Cycle, it’s one of my favourite series. I love the way Stiefvater writes and the characters are awesome (especially Gansey).

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

