Review

Review: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Genre: Fantasy Age Level: Junior Series: N/A
Genre: Fantasy
Age Level: Junior
Series: N/A

Moral allegory and spiritual autobiography, The Little Prince is the most translated book in the French language. With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behaviour through a series of extraordinary encounters. His personal odyssey culminates in a voyage to Earth and further adventures.

2.5/5

I was fine right up until the end and then it got way to weird for me. Well, to be honest, the whole thing is quite weird, but the ending is particularly so. I don’t see why it’s so popular and so loved because it really wasn’t all that special or great.

The Little Prince shares insights on the differences between the adult world and the world of children. Children have imagination and don’t care about materialism, whereas adults focus too much on ‘serious’ things that they don’t stop to enjoy their lives. The little prince teaches that things take on a special importance once you get to know them and the important things are invisible. It’s all metaphorical but takes things the extreme and most simplistic version. I know it’s aimed at children, but I wonder how much kids would understand of this anyway.

I didn’t take anything away from the novel, feel anything towards it and don’t think I’ll really remember it either. What I did like, and the only redeeming feature of the novel, is the character of the little prince. I loved his curious, investigative nature and wise-beyond-his-years wisdom.

I truly disliked the ending. Like I said, way too weird. The end result could have been achieved in another more meaningful way. The final chapter was okay and I like the note of hope and sadness the novel ends on, but I still cannot get over the final events.

I wouldn’t recommend this. It’s highly overrated.

Have you read this book? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Review: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

  1. I liked the beginning and the bit about the drawing and people’s different perceptions of it, but I largely agree with you otherwise. I found it a bit patronising in places to be honest. It definitely comes across as a book that’s trying to be for both adults and children, but like you, I don’t know what children would really get out of it, and as an adult I just didn’t feel charmed by it at all.

    1. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who disliked it. It was definitely patronizing when it criticized adult behavior. I’m not exactly sure that I agree with the messages either. Sometimes I really wonder about some classics…

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

