Bookmarked Thoughts · Meme

Bookmarked Thoughts (47)

Movies – A Rant

Lately I’ve struggled with defining a good movie after suffering through horrible, pointless films. Because a lot of the stuff out there does not deserve to be a movie. A movie is a visual and auditory form of art. It tells a story through the use of dialogue and images. So then why do so many movies fail to deal out either? Most movies nowadays could just be books. There is no reason for their stories to be displayed though a visual medium. They are just plots with characters. A good author could describe the entire movie and it would have the same effect.

With modern technology, there are so many cool visual things to be done with movies. Movies could, and should, be continually pushing the boundaries of what is possible. I want to see cool special effects, experimentation with how to tell a story in a purely visual format; basically anything but what I’m getting now. Yes, plot is still important; you have to have a story worth telling, and so is character, but there should be more to a movie then just that. Otherwise, what sets it apart from other forms of media?

I’m still watching certain action movies, because I don’t mind an epic battle filled with special effects now and then, but I’m extremely picky about anything else I watch. I’m loving older movies and animated films right now because they have what I’m looking for – a story dependent on a visual format and a good use of visuals to boot.

How do you define a good movie? I’d love to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Bookmarked Thoughts (47)

  1. I too like movies where boundaries are pushed, I don’t like something real-life like, be it romance or action or fiction. the more unrealistic, the better it is for me 🙂

  2. Hey! I definitely see your point there, the movie industry does need a good push to surprise us with something out-of-the-ordinary. However, I have some personal opinions that differ from yours and I hope I won’t offend you, just sharing some thoughts! 🙂

    I feel that no matter how much a book tries, it can only suggest a visual image; It might be able to plant something in the readers’ mind but ultimately, these things are still in one’s mind. I don’t know about most people but my mental images of settings are pretty generic (unless it’s Hogwarts), and never too detailed/intricate because these images aren’t printed in my mind for long.

    The funny thing is, my mind can’t come up with good visuals yet I’m a very visually stimulated person. That is why even when book-to-movie adaptations are just books in visual form without any additional cool effects, they move me in a different way. I don’t need the movie to be ground-breaking. All I’d like is to see something that used to only be in my mind, to translate fictional to flesh and blood, to notice the details and colour coordination and movements and so many other things that my puny brain might have missed when forming my own images… these things make me a really happy and proud movie-goer. Obviously there are not-so-great adaptations too like *cough* Percy Jackson *cough* but well, maybe you just haven’t had great luck with good movies, hope you’ll rediscover faith in them soon 🙂

    Alicia @ Noverly Things

    1. I love hearing others people’s thoughts, so thanks for sharing 🙂 I guess we have a difference in what we expect from movies.

      I was more talking about films in general, than adaptations, but they bother me in the same way. It’s not that I don’t like adaptations, I just feel like many books shouldn’t be movies. I only like adaptations of books that genuinely work as movies because the plot heavily relies on visuals. Otherwise, I find the movie destroys, rather than aids, what I’ve imagined because what’s in my head versus what’s on the screen is always different.

      At the same time, I don’t want movies that could easily be turned into books without losing anything. Any movie that can be easily turned into a film novelization shouldn’t be a movie, but a book.

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

