Review

Review: Sister’s Fate by Jessica Spotswood

Genre: Paranormal, Historical Fiction Age Level: Young Adult Series: Cahill Witch Chronicles #3
Genre: Paranormal, Historical Fiction
Age Level: Young Adult
Series: Cahill Witch Chronicles #3

A fever ravages New London, but with the Brotherhood sending suspected witches straight to the gallows, the Sisters are powerless against the disease. They can’t help without revealing their powers—as Cate learns when a potent display of magic turns her into the most wanted witch in all of New England.

To make matters worse, Cate has been erased from the memory of her beloved Finn. While she’s torn between protecting him from further attacks and encouraging him to fall for her all over again, she’s certain she can never forgive Maura’s betrayal. And now that Tess’s visions have taken a deadly turn, the prophecy that one Cahill sister will murder another looms ever closer to its fulfillment.

3.5/5

I couldn’t wait to rejoin Cate’s world of witchery especially after the crazy cliffhanger ending of Star Cursed. It wasn’t quite as good as I’d hoped, leaving the first book, Born Wicked to be my favourite out of the three.

Sister’s Fate is not a satisfying conclusion in the expected way, but upon reflection of the novel, this made it a better book. There is no sense of things ending that is typically present in final books. When I was about three quarters of the way through I even wondered if perhaps I was mistaken and that the Cahill Witch Chronicles was a series, not a trilogy. Things don’t begin to get neatly tied off, story lines slowly being brought to a close. The plot just keeps going, building up to the final scene at full force.

While I appreciated the atypical love situation, Finn and Cate was one of my favourite parts of the story. This would have been a better conflict for the second book, as I was really looking forward to seeing their relationship build right up until the end instead of regressing. I liked the note on which their relationship is left at, though it shouldn’t have had to end that way if Finn had never lost his memory.

The entire book is extremely fast paced and hard to put down and is a rather quick read. It’s in that last quarter, where the story begins to get the sense of wrapping up, that the plot becomes rushed and borders on being unoriginal. The outcome felt like it took the predictable, happy route instead of taking the book in an interesting direction. There were some pretty good twists, but nothing that spectacular.

The characterization, I felt, slipped a little with existing characters and it was hard to distinguish between characters. However, I loved the complex relationship between Cate and Maura. It is one of the better sibling relationships I have read. The dynamics between all three sisters in fact is well done and I love how distinct their personalities are. Merriweather was also a wonderful character who I wish I could see more of.

Overall, it’s a good trilogy, and I am looking forward to reading Spotswood’s future novels.

Other books in the series: 

Born Wicked – Book 1

Star Cursed – Book 2

Have you read this book? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you!

 

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

