Review: Hidden Enemy by Pittacus Lore

Genre: Fantasy, Action, Adventure Age Level: Middle Grade Series: Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files #7-9
Genre: Fantasy, Action, Adventure
Age Level: Middle Grade
Series: Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files #7-9

The perfect companion book to the New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series! I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: Hidden Enemyis a collection of three action-packed novellas by bestselling author Pittacus Lore! Originally published as the e-novellas Five’s Legacy,Return to Paradise, and Five’s Betrayal, now, for the first time ever, they are together in one print volume.

Five’s Legacy tells the story of Five’s early years on Earth when he was just a young teen on the run, discovering his abilities and making the wrong kind of friends.

Return to Paradise picks up in the aftermath of the Mog attack on Ohio and follows Mark James as he struggles between returning to a normal life and helping John Smith and the others.

Five’s Betrayal is the exhilarating continuation of Five’s story, in which he joins the Mogadorian ranks and must demonstrate his allegiance to them by helping to destroy the other Lorien survivors.

You know the truth about the Mogadorians’ invasion of Earth and the Garde who will do anything to defeat them—yet there is still so much to learn. The stories in Hidden Enemy will help you get the answers you seek, but they will not help you stop the coming war. Only the Garde can save our planet.


Pittacus Lore’s ability to create a comprehensive world is fantastic. There are so many characters and stories that come together to create a complete picture. All the angles get covered, from the lives of the Garde themselves, to the Mogs to the humans who interact with them. Characters spring to life within a few paragraphs and by the end of each book it becomes easier and easier to believe that there is in fact an alien battle going on right this moment. I always enjoy The Lost Files novellas because fill in all the gaps and bring in new characters.

The first and third stories are about Five’s back story, the only Garde whose past has remained a mystery. I now understand why he joined the Mogs, though I still hate him. I feel a little sorry for him because he is so naive but that’s about it. I enjoyed reading about his early years because the different ways the Cepan’s choose to train their Garde fascinate me. Five provided a different perspective on the Mog’s than Adam did; revealing how the Mogs interacted with the rest of the world and how easily they can brainwash others to their cause.

The middle story forced me to stretch my brain back to book one. I enjoyed returning to Paradise and reuniting with characters I haven’t seen since book one. So many possibilities were opened in this novella and I can’t wait to see how Mark James will join the team. It also brings up the question of what he’s been doing all this time, but I guess I’ll find out in the Revenge of Seven.

Fans will not be disappointed and if you’re not yet a fan, you should definitely read this series.

Other books in the series: 

I am Number Four- Book 1

The Power of Six- Book 2

The Rise of Nine – Book 3

The Fall of Five – Book 4

The Legacies – The Lost Files 1

The Secret Histories – The Lost Files 2

Have you read this book? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you!


2 thoughts on “Review: Hidden Enemy by Pittacus Lore

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s