Bookmarked Thoughts · Meme

Bookmarked Thoughts (39)

Covers

 

As much as I try to read the summary and look at reviews, it is hard not to judge books by their covers. So what makes some covers jump out at you and others make you want to run the other way? Though it varies from reader to reader, a well designed cover plays a huge role in getting the book from the shelf to your hand.

Here are some of the things that I LOVE in covers:

  1. Typography. Calligraphy is an art too. A gorgeous cover is nothing if the font sucks.
  2. Beautiful colour schemes. Whether the cover is harmonious or complimentary, the colours shouldn’t clash.
  3. Art. I adore covers that are painted or drawn rather than a photograph or a computer generated image.
  4. Be intruguing. Covers should make me curious about what’s inside.

Here are some things I can’t stand:

  1. False Advertising. There is nothing worse than a cover that is completely unrelated to the book or misleading in some fashion.
  2. Pretty White Girl in a Dress. I don’t think I need to elaborate on this point.
  3. Poor Design. A cover should not look like a six year old designed it on Word.
  4. Too much or too little. Minimalistic doesn’t fly when there is nothing on the cover. Overcrowded covers don’t work either.

These are some of my favourite covers:

devil

lily

scorpiotigerdreamerblue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are some things you look for in a good cover? What are some of your favourite covers? I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “Bookmarked Thoughts (39)

  1. I love the Tiger Lily cover. It just begs to be read. And I agree with most of your likes/dislikes. The one thing I differ on is the pretty white girl in a dress…as long as the book features a pretty white girl who actually wears a dress. It’s different when the character doesn’t ever wear a dress, and yet the cover just puts it on there for aesthetic appeal.

    1. The Tiger Lily cover is one of my favourites. I see where you’re coming from, but I’m able to think of very few covers where the pretty white girl on the cover is there for a reason other than to sell the book. Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy is one of the few I can think of where it actually worked.

    1. That doesn’t sound childish! In some ways, all covers should show something from the book. After all, isn’t the point of the cover to visually show you what the book will be about? When the cover doesn’t relate to the content it just gets confusing.

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

