Review

Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Genre: dystopian, romance Age Level: Young Adult Series: Shatter Me #3
Genre: dystopian, romance
Age Level: Young Adult
Series: Shatter Me #3

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

4.5/5

It has been ages since I’ve read a book in one sitting and even longer since I stayed up late to finish reading. Ignite Me messed with my head and my heart and even now I can’t stop thinking about it.

Ignite Me was beyond anything I could possibly imagine on the relationship side, and nothing like I’d hoped on the plot side. What I mean is the characters were utter perfection, but the plot was a bit of a disappointment. It is so damn good though, I was able to overlook these flaws. It made me impossibly happy and I read most of the book with a smile on my face.

I’d had some issues with Juliette over the past two books – being too weak, too whiny – especially because I knew she was much stronger than that. Anyone who could survive what she went through and maintain his/her humanity has to be strong, so I couldn’t understand why she broke down so easily. Now, it all makes perfect sense. Juliette’s growth as a character over the course of the trilogy is fantastic and though I didn’t like who she was in Unravel Me, the Juliette in Ignite Me is someone I admire. Seeing her finally accept herself and gain confidence was amazing and she would barely recognize the girl she was at the beginning of Shatter Me.

Adam has changed too. I remember saying that I wanted to see Adam’s uglier side because he was too perfect. Well, Ignite Me definitely gave me a better idea of who Adam is, both his positive attributes and his negative ones. Tahereh Mafi does something incredible with all her characters – they start off as no one special and turn into someone so real I have to keep reminding myself it’s only a book. Kenji is such a great character as well – Juliette’s best friend, Adam’s brother (in a sense), and the comedic relief. James was as stubborn and inquisitive as ever and I loved him.

Warner. I knew he wasn’t as bad as everyone said he was, but I still thought he was a monster. Misunderstood, yes – but still someone who is warped and twisted. I so did not expect the person I got in Ignite Me.  I didn’t think I could have been so wrong about him and I am so happy that I was.

As much as I hate myself for finding flaws in this book, the plot did fall short. I complained that nothing much happened in Shatter Me and was glad that the plot picked up again in Unravel Me. It seemed to get lost completely in Ignite Me. At least three quarters of the book is just about the characters but I really didn’t mind. The problem is that the little plot there is is extremely weak and unrealistic. The ending in particular is cheesy and rushed. If the plot were stronger, this could have been a five-star read.

The writing seems less poetic than in the past two books and is also a lot better. Juliette’s voice is stronger with no strike-throughs or emotional descriptions. It flowed perfectly and allowed me to read Ignite Me in record time.

I will read whatever Tahereh Mafi writes next and can’t wait to see what characters she’ll create. Everyone – do yourself a favour and read this brilliant trilogy.

Other books in the series: 

Shatter Me – Book 1

Unravel Me – Book 2

Unite Me – Books 1.5 and 2.5 

**The part below contains spoilers so read at your own risk**

 

 

 

I loved every single scene with Warner and Juliette. Heck I loved every scene with Warner. I loved his interactions with the other characters, and their disbelief and doubt. I loved their shock at uncovering his personality and Adam’s anger at her for liking him. Every scene with him in it made me so so happy. I’m not 100% sure why but I think it’s a combination of how much I love Warner, and how perfect the interactions between him and the other characters are.

I still can’t wrap my head around who Warner truly is. I’m still having trouble understanding how the twisted Warner was portrayed as at the beginning is the same Warner who has too much emotion and love. How can the boy who did so many despicable things have a sense of fashion and a strong moral code? He is one of the best characters I have come across because he is so human – deeply flawed yet full of passion and hope. I love him so much – his shyness and self-consciousness, his sadness and pain.

I am so happy Juliette chose him because he makes her stronger. He believes in her and supports her, things Adam never gave her. Adam wanted her to be sweet and quiet and needy. Warner wants her to be proud of herself and confident. I adored the two of them together and desperately want more. I wish the whole trilogy was just Warner and Juliette, but the rational part of me says that she did need Adam at that point in her life. Adam gave her hope in her darkest hours and led her to freedom, but Warner is her soul mate.

I don’t know if I’ll ever re-read this series because I don’t know if I’ll be able to put aside everything that happens in Ignite Me. I feel like it would be torture to go back to the beginning with the ending hanging over my head. On the other hand I desperately need more of these characters. Oh well, I guess I’ll see what happens in a few years time.

Have you read this book? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

