Review

Review: Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Genre: dystopian, romance Age Level: young adult Series: Shatter Me #1.5, 2.5
Genre: dystopian, romance
Age Level: young adult
Series: Shatter Me #1.5, 2.5

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Meand Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

4/5

I was super exited that these novellas came out in paperback just in time for Ignite Me. I would have liked to have read Destroy Me after Unravel Me, but I don’t think it was that big of a deal to read it after. I can’t say I minded getting a giant dose of Warner all at once. I’m reviewing this after finishing Ignite Me, so it’s hard for me to separate the two books in my head, but I’ll try my best.

Destroy Me

I am a HUGE Warner fan and loved getting the chance to hear his perspective. I didn’t realize the depth of his love for Juliette or how deeply the words of her journal affected him. He and Juliette are so similar in so many ways. Both were unloved by their parents, both feel alone in the world, and both feel like they have to hide who they are. I feel really bad for him and know there is a good person beneath his cold exterior.

Fracture Me

Though after Unravel Me I didn’t want Juliette to end up with Adam, I still really like him as a character. I admire his protectiveness over James and the lengths to which he will go to ensure his brother’s safety. It was a very emotional story as it spans horrible period in the characters lives. It was also interesting to see where his true alliance lies.

Juliette’s Journal 

This section showcases the best of Tahereh’s poetic writing. Juliette’s journal is very emotional and touching. There are some sections I want to copy down and keep because they described feelings too complicated to describe and they really resonated with me.

Have you read this book? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Review: Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

