Bookmarked Thoughts · Meme

Bookmarked Thoughts (33)


To DNF or Not to DNF

You are trudging through the book, every page feels like its taking hours to read. Nothing that happens interests you, or worse, makes you want to chuck the book across in the room in annoyance or anger. You don’t like the characters, you don’t like the plot, you cannot possibly see how any of it will improve and you want nothing more that to switch over to another book – one that you’re sure you’ll like. If you were only a few pages in, you’d have put the book down, deciding it clearly wasn’t for you, but you’re already more than a third of the way done.  Do you keep going in the hopes that it will improve, that whatever got you to pick up the book and start reading in the first place will pick up again in a few pages? Or do you decide that its not worth your time and put it down, at least temporarily? Every reader has faced this decision more times than they’d like to and it’s never easy.

I don’t like to DNF because I’ve found that if I push through, I usually end up being rewarded. I have DNFed though and looking back, I feel confident that I made the right decision. When I say DNF I mean putting the book down without the intention of picking it back up again. There have been many times where I haven’t been in the mood for a book so I’ve set it aside to read later, but I don’t put them in the same category.

So, when do I DNF?

  1. I didn’t like the beginning of the book, and it’s not getting any better
  2. The book is written poorly or badly plotted
  3. The book seriously annoys me or angers me to the point where it pains me to keep reading
  4. It’s a genre I have disliked in the past

Do you DNF? Is so, when? I’d love to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Bookmarked Thoughts (33)

  1. Poor writing will kill a book for me faster than anything else. That, and a completely flat, boring plot. I shouldn’t have to wait for a whole third of the book for something to happen. :-/

    1. I am very picky about writing so I completely agree. I can’t stand confusing sentences and poor grammar – it makes me cringe even thinking about it!

      The beginning of a book should grab your attention, if it doesn’t it’s either poorly done or its not for you.

  2. I just DNFed Outlander, although I *may* pick it up again one day if I get seriously bored because a lot of people seemed to really like it. I gave up when there were too many references to the protagonist being scantily clad and a really cringey and not very sexy sex scene.

    I also DNF any book that I don’t enjoy or haven’t picked up for quite a while. If I’m not enjoying reading it, I stop, for whatever reason. I used to always finish everything, but as I get older I realise there are too many books to read as it is, and I don’t want to miss something great while reading something I should DNF. Actually, this is a great metaphor for dating. I must go and write a blog about that… lol! x

    1. I also used to finish everything when I was younger, but then one day I realized it was pointless. There are way too many books out there to waste time on one you’re not going to enjoy.

      I’ll be sure to check out your post 🙂

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

