Review

Review: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Genre: dystopian, romance Age Level: Young Adult Series: Shatter Me #2
Genre: dystopian, romance
Age Level: Young Adult
Series: Shatter Me #2

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquaters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

4/5

I read Shatter Me last year, but was able to to go straight into Unravel Me without any problems. I saw lots of people saying that this was THE book of the year so I was expecting something amazing. While I think Unravel Me is better than Shatter Me, I don’t think its the best thing ever.

Tahereh’s writing is undeniably gorgeous and the noticeably fewer number of strikethroughs reflect Juliette’s growing strength as a character. The dialogue flows beautifully and I love the extended metaphors Juliette uses to describe her world. It is poetic and borders on being too much, but never reaches the point where the prose overshadows the story.

Juliette is not a typical heroin. She despises her power, doesn’t want to save the world and hates the spotlight. What she is, is someone who is brave and stands up against injustice. In Shatter Me, the fact that Juliette is over emotional didn’t bother me. In this book however she started to annoy me. Instead of being grateful for something to focus on and dedicate time to, she doesn’t want to practice her powers and then has a breakdown when she loses control. She gets caught up in her own personal troubles and doesn’t stop to think that maybe there are bigger issues than her boy troubles.

That brings us to the love triangle. This is one of those love triangles I am neutral about. I like the triangle itself, but wish it weren’t the focus of the book. I feel really bad for Adam and love Warner more than ever. In the world of misunderstood villains, Warner could be their leader. Anderson is truly awful and anyone would be messed up if they had someone like him for a father. Warner clings to the belief that Juliette is like him, which is true. They have so much more chemistry than she does with Adam. He’s so damaged, but has a big heart hidden beneath his cold exterior. Damn. I have no idea how this love triangle will be resolved especially in light of what happens in Unravel Me.

There is a ton of character development and I got my wish to see more of Kenji. The plot is a lot better in this book as is the world building. We finally get to find out what’s happening in the world and the extent of Anderson’s control. It felt a little too much like a typical control dytopian regime though, and I’d love to learn more about society. Omega Point is pretty cool but nothing about it seems different to any other book or movie about an organisation with super powers. I wasn’t thinking about any of this while reading, but as I’m writing this I’m beginning to realize that the story hangs completely on the characters. Without them, it would just be a bland, boring dystopian and I would like to see a little more originality.

For a big book, it is a quick read that never felt dragged out or boring. The ending is especially action packed and has a satisfying conclusion. I look forward to reading the final book in the trilogy which comes out tomorrow, and hopefully I’ll get a chance to read the inbetween stories as well. Recommend to fans of dystopians that have a focus on romance.

Have you read this book? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “Review: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

