Uncategorized

The Best of 2013

titleThis year I met many new authors: M.T. Anderson, Kathi Appelt, Patrick Ness, David Peterson, Rick Yancey, Matt Phelan, Laura Amy Shlitz and Elizabeth Wein to name a few. I’m looking forward to read more of their novels in the upcoming months.

I also said goodbye to a few series I’ve been reading for a while: Flight, Beyonders, The Mother-Daughter Book Club, The Infernal Devices and Gemma Doyle and finished a few that I started this year: The Earl and the Fairy, The Monstrumologist. It’s always sad to say goodbye to characters, but it feels good to complete a series and follow through with a story to the end.

I also re-read a few favourites: The Invention of Hugo Cabret, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane and The Hobbit.

And of course, I read many amazing books. So, here are the best (and worst) of 2013:

best of 2013
Best of 2013: Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein – An emotional read, but a brilliant depiction of the horrors of the camp.
Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz – Also brilliant, but in a different way. The story telling was wonderful and very memorable.

best seriesbest debutbest mangabest graphic novelbest writingbest conclusionmost disapointingstats

What did you read this year? What are some of your favourites and least favourites? Link me up to your 2013 recaps! I’d love to hear from you!!

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

