Review

Review: Fog by Caroline B. Cooney

Genre: Paranormal Age Level: YA Series: Losing Christina #1 Pages: Paperback - 216 Publisher: Scholastic
Genre: Paranormal
Age Level: YA
Series: Losing Christina #1
Pages: Paperback – 216
Publisher: Scholastic

The Shevvingtons are perfect. Mr. Shevvington is the charming, handsome principal of Christina’s school. His wife is a dedicated English teacher. When the Autumn fog rolls over the coast, Christian and Anya begin boarding at the Shevvington’s home, where Christina discovers that nothing is as it seems. Anya is slowly losing her mind, and Christina knows the Shevvingtons are behind it. But who will take her word against that of the Shevvingtons? This is book one in the Losing Christina series.

3/5

When I started this book I’d prepared myself for a truly scary read and I was kind of disappointed when this book failed to so much as shock me. It never really went beyond strange, though it certainly had an abundance of that.

The problem was that the book tried to tackle too much at once, balancing the contemporary issues of a thirteen year old fitting in at a new school with all the paranormal stuff. Too many things happen in the book and not enough time is spent on each even to allow the creepiness to really set in.

The writing was not really my thing – super precise with neat, tidy sentences. I prefer gorgeous writing that can suck me into the story, whereas this writing repelled me.

The characters were quite interesting. They were typical kids, but were at the same time not the standard characters you find in books. However, I wasn’t able to connect with any of them.

What I did like about Fog was that it was unique. About the ocean being alive and about people who can suck your souls.  About posters that keep changing and brainwashing.

That’s about all I have to say about Fog. I will the next two book in the trilogy because they’re short and I am curious to see what happens next. I wont dissuade you from reading them, but I won’t recommend them either.

 

fog 1

fog 2

 

 

 

Have you read this book? What did you think? 

4 thoughts on “Review: Fog by Caroline B. Cooney

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

