Review

Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Genre: Sci Fi Age Level: YA Source: Library/ borrowed from friend Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2 Interest: series
Genre: Sci Fi
Age Level: YA
Source: Library/ borrowed from friend
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2
Interest: series

The fates of Cinder and Scarlet collide as a Lunar threat spreads across the Earth…

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

3/5

I remember zipping through Cinder, glued to the pages. Though not my favourite read of the year, it was enjoyable. I loved the sci if elements, the setting and the characters. Yet, Scarlet just wasn’t as good. I know I’m in the minority here, but I honestly think Cinder was better for a number of reasons.

I didn’t connect with Scarlet at all. Or Wolf, or Thorne. Scarlet is stubborn and brave and desperately wants to find her grandmother. However, I feel like I didn’t learn enough about her to be able to imagine her as a real person inside my head. Wolf was a much more interesting character, but as we are not treated to scenes from his POV, I couldn’t learn much about him either. Same goes for Thorne, though I am really confused about what purpose he serves in the story. I really hope it becomes more apparent in the next book and that he is not just cast away like an extra part.

Kai is given a very small part in this book and I wish I could have seen more of him, though thankfully  we still have Cinder’s POV.  The romance between Scarlet and Wolf wasn’t bad, but I didn’t feel it.

The plot was pretty slow too, with two thirds of the book being about the characters travelling from place to place, most of which was unnecessary. It was also pretty predictable, though a few things still got me. The setting should have been cool – rural France – but it wasn’t. It just felt like any random place in the middle of no where.

The writing is to blame for most of this. It really isn’t bad, so I don’t know why I have such a problem with it, but it makes me feel disconnected from the story. It just flowed smoothly no matter what was going on and didn’t go deeper.

On the positive side, the story is interesting and the fairy tale adaptation brilliant. Hopefully this story was just a necessary low in an awesome series. If you enjoyed Cinder, you should definitely read Scarlet. If not, this series might not be for you.

Check out the other books in The Lunar Chronicles series!

Cinder – Book #1

Cress – Book #3 – expected publication 2014

Winter – Book #4 – expected publication 2015

 scarlet 2scarlet 1

Have you read this book? What did you think? 

3 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

