Bookmarked Thoughts · Meme

Bookmarked Thoughts (15)

Bookmarked Thoughts is a weekly meme presenting my thoughts on a specific topic or image. If you would like to join in please let me know in the comments below.

Libraries

borrow

I have gone to the library for as long as I can remember so it is hard for me to understand why people buy books when they could be getting them for free. I only buy a book if it is a favourite that I want to read over and over again and just stare at longingly everyday. Sure, I’ve bought some books in a moment of weakness, but I’ve never gotten to the point where my bookshelves are overflowing with books, nor do I anticipate this happening.

I love the small, cozy libraries. The ones where the librarians know you and it is never crowded or loud. The lack of selection doesn’t bother me because I order most of my books on the online catalogues. It is an awesome feeling standing in a room filled with books, surrounded by other book lovers. I can even get DVDs, CDs, ebooks, audiobooks and magazines without having to pay a cent.

Yes, it is gross to find stuff stuck between the pages or to have a book that smells like smoke or perfume, but it doesn’t happen that often.  And I agree, it sucks to have a book go back when you’re in the middle and are really enjoying it, or to have to wait forever for a book you desperately want. But, I’d still rather deal with that then chance spending money on a book that I may hate and may never want to read again. I also understand that is it nice to have a shiny, new book, but for me there’s just something about reading a book that others have read too and I don’t have to worry if it gets a little ruined.

So next time you’re about to log onto Amazon, or head into your favourite book store, stop and head into a library instead. I promise it’ll be a pleasant surprise.

Do you buy or borrow books? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

3 thoughts on “Bookmarked Thoughts (15)

  1. I love the library! I get 99% of my books from there, and frankly, I wouldn’t read as much if I didn’t have access to such a wonderful library system. I’ve been introduced to many authors, whose books I went on to buy – thanks to libraries.

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

