Review

Review: The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan

Genre: Paranormal  Age Level: YA Source: Library Series: The Disposesed #1 Interest: plot
Genre: Paranormal
Age Level: YA
Source: Library
Series: The Dispossesed #1
Interest: plot

After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and, disturbingly, the house Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, found for them isn’t a house at all. It’s an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.

And Grayson has gone missing.

No one seems to know of his whereabouts but Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows he’s in grave danger. It will be up to her and Gabby to navigate the twisted path to Grayson, a path that will lead Ingrid on a discovery of dark secrets and otherworldly truths. And she’ll learn that once they are uncovered, they can never again be buried.

3/5

The Beautiful and the Cursed has an interesting premise but doesn’t deliver. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t great either. Since I don’t really have much to say about the book, this isn’t going to be a true review, just what I liked or disliked about it.

THE BAD:

The pacing. I figured bad news first, right? This book is really really slow which is surprising considering that a lot happens. The book just dragged and I was practically trudging through it to the point where I considered putting it down. It just didn’t flow AT ALL. By the end of the book I got used to the pacing and it didn’t bother me as much but it was still agonizing.

THE OK:

The characters and romance. The character building is OK, but I didn’t care about any of the characters. When someone was dying or in a dangerous situation all I thought was ‘oh well’. I liked the romance and character pairings, but again, didn’t care about it.

The writing. The writing is mediocre. It has good descriptions but, like the plot, lacks flow. On its own it would have been fine but the two together are a lethal combination. At times it is also a little confusing though now I’m just being picky.

The plot. The novel is a little gory, but not over the top. There is action, but not as much as I’d hoped. The mystery behind it all is also decent but the twists failed to shock me.

THE GOOD:

The mythology. The history of the dispossessed (the gargoyles) as well as the demons and angels is really well done. I enjoyed learning about their world and how they interact with humans. Gargoyles are pretty unique and I liked that everything is kept believable.

Multiple POV’s. We are treated to sections from different characters POV’s – mainly the two sisters. This is what saved the story from being a complete bore as each character learns different pieces of the puzzle along the way and sees things differently. The cliffhangers at the end of each section helped me push through the story and kept me interested.

The setting. Paris in the late 1800s. Need I say more?

So in all it wasn’t a very memorable read. It wasn’t great but it was enjoyable and I do think I’ll continue with the series. If the book sounds appealing to you, I wouldn’t discourage you from reading it but don’t expect a fast paced thriller.

Have you read this book? What did you think? 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

