Bookmarked Thoughts · Meme

Bookmarked Thoughts (12)

Bookmarked Thoughts is a weekly meme presenting my thoughts on a specific topic or image. If you would like to join in please let me know in the comments below.

Clichés in YA fiction

Source: MBT Ponderers
Source: MBT Ponderers

There are certain elements in YA books that keep repeating themselves. Though I don’t think that any of them are bad on their own, its just annoying to see them popping up everywhere.

Love Triangles – I don’t hate them – If they’re done properly and are there for a reason; not just for the sake of having one. However, it seems like almost every single book contains one and I wish there’d be a little more originality.

Hot Guys/Girls– In most books the love interests are described as perfect or better looking than everyone else. For once, can there be a relationship that is not defined by looks, because what kind of message is that? Oh and does the main character always have to end up with a boy/girl friend?

Insta-Love – I put this one next for a reason. The main character sees someone – usually the most beautiful person around – and instantly head over heels in love. I understand having an instant crush on someone, but falling in love barely knowing the guy/girl… not saying it doesn’t happen, I just don’t think it’s that common.

Unrealistic Reactions – This is where the main character either kills someone or witnesses some kind of horrible and traumatizing event – and then walks away with barely a thought on the matter. No nightmares, no phobias, no deep reflection. If I were in a situation like that I would definitely not be able to shrug it off that easily and I don’t think I’m the only one that thinks this way.

Dystopian Society – I’ve been avoiding dystopians lately because they’re all pretty much the same thing. A government that controls every aspect of the citizens lives and the teens who decide to rebel. That’s why I’ve mentally drawn the line between dytopian and post-apocalyptic novels where the characters have to survive through the end of the world. While the former is repetitive and the latter is a genre I love.

Have you noticed any cliches I’ve missed? What do you think about cliches in YA?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

