Uncategorized

Goals for Summer 2013 – Part 1

summer

These are going to be my less serious goals. Just stuff like books I want to read and an update on my personal challenges. Anything that requires more thought, like how many books I aim on reading this summer will have to wait for later this week as right now I’m barely able to form cohesive sentences without re-writing them at least five times. I used up so much energy during exams that it’s going to take me a while to get back to normal. The heat also kills me so the combination right now is pretty lethal.

The Goals

At the beginning of the year I set myself four goals:

1) To read more contemporaries 

So far I have read two contemporaries: The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. I enjoyed both to varying degrees though its clear that I prefer the lighter side of the genre. I look forward to reading more contemps over the summer!

2) To complete my Goodreads challenge 

 I am well on my way to completing my challenge and think that I can even beat it before school starts again as I read a TON in the summer.

3) To read some classics

So far I have read The Great Gatsby , The Picture of Dorian Grey and The Hobbit, if that counts as one. I’m never sure where to draw the line at what it considered a classic and what is isn’t….  Anyways, there are some classics that are at the top of my TBR pile that I can’t wait to read this summer.

4) To complete series 

I’m horrible at completing series. I’ll read the first, enjoy it, and then never read the rest. I’m not sure if I’ll even actually complete this goal, but I’m leaving it up here as motivation.

The Books/Authors

Here is a list of some books that I need to read this summer or I might never read them. Because it seriously feels that way. Plus some authors who I love and need to read more of their novels. So here they are in no particular order…

  1. The Gone Series by Michael Grant. I enjoyed the first book, Gone, and then never read the rest… and every one seems to like them. I’ll wait till I’m feeling a little less paranoid then usual and then pick it up.
  2. The Maximum Ride Series by James Patterson. Pretty much same as above minus the paranoia.
  3. Graceling by Kristin Cashore. I’ve been meaning to read this for ages. I should love it. It’s fantasy and I’m a graceling myself (I have two different coloured eyes). Maybe I’m just scared I’ll be disappointed?
  4. The Book Thief. I started this book, it had to go back to the library and I never saw it again though everyone in my family read it. I will get to it though. I hope.
  5. The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. I read the first three books, then by the time the last book came out I realized that I seriously needed to re-read the previous books because I didn’t remember a thing. And these books are huge…
  6. The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud. These are my brothers favourite books and he might just murder me if I don’t read them.
  7. Holly Black. I’ve only read one of her books but they’re all on my TBR.
  8. Michael Ondaatje. I LOVED Cat’s Table and need more of that beautiful writing and stories that imprint themselves on your mind forever.
  9. Kate DiCamillo. Another author I love and need more of. So far I’ve read The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, The Tiger Rising and The Tale of Despereaux though that one’s due for a re-read.
  10. Neal Gaiman. Everyone’s been raving about him lately and I’ve only read his two middle grade novels; The Graveyard Book and Coraline.

So that’s it for me! Do you have any goals for the summer? If so, I’d love to hear them!

6 thoughts on “Goals for Summer 2013 – Part 1

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

