Review

Review: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Genre: Classics Age Level: Adult Source: Library Series: N/A Interest: movie, buzz
Genre: Classics
Age Level: Adult
Source: Library
Series: N/A
Interest: movie, buzz

‘I believe that on the first night I went to Gatsby’s house I was one of the few guests who had actually been invited. People were not invited – they went there.’

After the war, the mysterious Jay Gatsby, a self-made millionaire pursues wealth, riches and the lady he lost to another man with stoic determination. When Gatsby finally does reunite with Daisy Buchanan, tragic events are set in motion. Told through the eyes of his detached and omnipresent neighbour and friend, Nick Carraway, Fitzgerald’s succinct and powerful prose hints at the destruction and tragedy that awaits.

3/5

I’ve never been so confused as to my feeling about a book until The Great Gatsby. I’m not even sure whether or not I liked it hence the neutral rating. A lot of the book annoyed me and I didn’t care for the characters. But at the same time it did give me an accurate window into the time period and the plot was decent.

Let’s start with the annoying. If Gatsby said “old sport” one more time, I was going to chuck my MP3 out the window (It was an audio book).   Also the dialogue was outrageous. It jumped from subject to subject and had zero substance. However, this was not the author’s fault but an accurate representation of how people acted in the 20’s so I hesitate to say it was a flaw with the book.

The characters to me seemed weak and air-headed but once again this was the time period, not the book. Gatsby seemed to me to be the only character who actually took control of his life; building himself up after the war and going after Daisy. Everyone else seemed to just float through life doing as they pleased and not getting in trouble for their actions.

The plot moved quickly and held my attention and though simple it was satisfying.  I enjoyed the parties and was interested in finding the outcome of the love web (like a love triangle except with more people). I really liked how the writing was poetic but not overwhelming and the fact that everything was well described but I don’t know that this was enough to redeem the rest of the book.

Would I recommend this book? Probably not but I am interested in seeing the movie.

Have you read this book? What did you think? 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

