Bookmarked Thoughts · Meme

Bookmarked Thoughts (4)

What is the purpose of reading, or more importantly why do we like to read? For me, reading is divided into to categories: reading to learn and reading for pleasure. More often then not, there is an overlap between the two.

When I want to know something I find it more effective to get a book on the subject than to do research on the internet because I connect with books better. And I’m not just talking about non-fiction here, but historical fiction too. Books provide descriptions that allow me to get a better sense of things and characters allow me to understand how people feel.

The second reason I read is to further my imagination. My own imagination can only take me so far and sometimes other people’s ideas can add more depth to my thoughts. Books give me the ability to do and experience things that I would never experience otherwise; things that can’t happen. Instead of just my predictions on what I would do in a certain situation, I can read about how other people would add and what it is really like.

More importantly though, books give me a better understanding of who I am. How I relate to characters and situations in books makes me realize things about myself. Books also make me feel that there are other people out there who feel the same way I do and believe in the same things I do.

What do you think about this picture? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

