Uncategorized

Bookmarked Thoughts (3)

But can you judge a movie from its book?

More and more movies nowadays start off as books and this may be problematic. I always try to read books before I see the movie version because 99% of the time the book is better. What makes a movie adaptation good or bad? Well, the movie is going to be viewed by both people who have read the book and people who haven’t so the movie should satisfy both. For people who haven’t read the book, they have to be able to understand the plot without any background knowledge, and though this isn’t hard to do, many movies fail miserably. If you have read the book before, then you expect the movie to be an accurate portrayal of events. Now, this doesn’t mean that the movie should be word for word from the book, but that the movie should capture the same mood as set in the book and not include drastically different details. Some of the best adaptations in my opinion, are the ones that either change the book to create a movie that can co-exist with the book,  such as in the case of The Series of Unfortunate Events, or the ones that are true to the book like Hugo.

It always scares me when my favourite books get turned into movies because I don’t want the movie to ruin them for me. Sometimes it gets bad enough that I won’t even watch the movie. I often think that it would better if books and movies stayed separate entities, but then I think that they are both forms of art and that they should work together. I’m not sure that I really have a definite opinion of this subject or that I ever will. It’s just one of those things that are and you just have to accept it for better or for worse.

What do you think about this picture? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “Bookmarked Thoughts (3)

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

