Review

Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Format: Paperback
Pages: 338
Age Level: Young Adult
Source: Library
Interest: plot, genre
Series: Shatter Me # 1

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

4/5

Shatter Me is a majorly hyped up book that I have seen just about everywhere. I felt like I was just about the last person on the planet to read it when I picked it up. Now that I have read it I can definitely see where all the hype is coming from.

Tahereh’s writing was absolutely gorgeous. It was poetic, but not to the point where it became annoying and distracting. The writing actually added to the story, made me care about Juliette, made me understand and imagine her world and made me unable to put the book down. The strikethroughs didn’t bother me at all and was a really smart way to add more information. Instead of having to write down everything Juliette thought and then explain she pushed it away, her thoughts were included whole.

Some of the characters were amazing while I felt that others needed to have been developed a little more. Juliette was one of the amazing ones. At first I thought that her character was contradictory – she is so strong and tough and stubborn, but cries multiple times throughout the book – but then I realized that that’s what makes her so real. It is unrealistic for someone to be so emotionally void that nothing phases them no matter how tough they act. Everyone has a limit to what they can handle and Juliette is not presented as a hero who can do everything, but as a normal person who can only take so much.

Warner is by far my favourite character. He is just so warped in his view of the world that he can’t understand why others don’t see things the same way as him. He wants Juliette so badly but doesn’t know how to show his love to her and believes that she will end up like him because he doesn’t know anything else. He wants love, the one thing he has been denied his whole life but knows only of chaos. I feel really bad for him and hope that I will get to see more of him in the rest of the series.

Adam was almost too perfect, I mean seriously, this guy has no flaws. He has loved Juliette his whole life and everything he does is for her. I almost hope that he gets into a fight with Juliette in a later book so that I can see the other side of him, but I feel horrible thinking this because they are just so perfect for each other. They are both alone and have relied on each other for years to pull through.

I also loved Kenji as he was truly funny and I hope he gets a bigger role in future books.

This is turning out to be a really long review! *Sorry* I’ll try to wrap up….

The plot really fell short  for me. When I think about this book I am shocked by how little happened. There were no significant events or plot twists or anything unexpected really and that disappointed me. The society was barely described and I desperately wanted to know more details about The Reestablishment. The story focused too much on Juliette’s personal life and not enough on the bigger picture.

I feel like there is ton of promise for the next book if it can expand on what was lacking in the first. If you pick up Shatter Me expecting an action-packed dystopian, you will be disappointed, but if you enjoy lyrical writing and near-perfect characters, this book is highly recommended.

2 thoughts on “Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

