Review

Review: Lenobia’s Vow by P.C and Kristen Cast

Format: Hardcover
Pages: 147
Age Level: Young Adult
Source: Library
Interest: Series
Series: House of Night Novellas #2

Before becoming Zoey’s favourite professor and the House of Night’s powerful horse mistress, Lenobia was just a normal 16-year-old girl – but with enough problems to last a lifetime. In 1788, Lenobia’s father places her on a ship bound for New Orleans. An evil bishop, skilled in Dark magic, makes the same journey. His appetite for beautiful young women forces Lenobia to remain hidden, but she secretly visits the ship’s stables, where a handsome young man and his horses capture her attention. Can they make it to the New World before the bishop discovers her true identity and a powerful evil breaks loose? And will Lenobia follow her heart, even if it puts lives at risk?

3/5

I officially love novellas. I love what they add to their respective series and the way that they focus on only one topic or person. They are pretty much short stories with chapters and they are just super fun to read.

I usually do not feel sad after reading sad books or watching sad movies (unless an animal dies, that is) but Lenobia’s Vow left me close to tears. The books makes you feel for Lenobia, makes you feel her love – and also her loss.

I was a little confused by a few things; mostly about how the Priest is able to have an affinity. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t remember reading anywhere that humans can have affinities.

The Priest’s infatuation with Lenobia is a little too over the top. It was so creepy it became almost annoying. I mean I know that he thought she was beautiful, but still, this was a little beyond stalker-ish.

I enjoyed the time period but felt that it was only there to provide complications for the relationship. Apart from a few descriptions about clothing and the boat, the rest is left up to the reader which would be fine if it was set in the modern day. I was lacking the extra info I needed in order to properly imagine Lenobia’s surroundings.

If you are a fan of the series, I would recommend reading this novel. I wouldn’t say that it is necessary to read it, but it definitely adds perspective.

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

