Review

Review: The Kill Order by James Dashner

Pages: 336
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Reads
Age Level: Young Adult
Source: Library

The prequel to the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series.

Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.

Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next. Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.

Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive.

3/5

I am not sure that I got the point of this book. For me, the point of prequels are to provide new information to the reader; whether it be about the world, the characters or even something about the plot.

I picked up this book expecting to have some of my questions answered, but instead I only learned one new piece of information. And it wasn’t even a very important piece of information.

The plot of this book was action packed, but because I already knew the outcome, there were no plot twists or surprises. At the beginning the fight scenes were awesome, but by the end they became repetitive to the point where I knew exactly what was going to happen next.

I love James Dashner’s characters as they always feel real, and this book was no exception. Nothing is exaggerated or overdone; from their behaviours to their personalities. Each character has strengths and weaknesses and never does anything out of character. Their slow decent into madness was portrayed well – it didn’t fell sudden or out of place.  Mark’s flashbacks were interesting and I liked having the two story lines woven together.

As always, this book was twisted in a crazy and awesome way.  There are scenes that are a bit gory, but nothing is over the top.

The world was described really well and everything was very realistic. All the tech was fully explained which is always a plus for me.

What annoyed me the most though was that there times in the book where the plot built up to what was supposed to be an ‘OMG’ moment, but since I already had learnt the information it was pointless.

So what am I trying to say? Well, I think a prequel definitely adds to the trilogy, I just think it could have been done better. I’d have rather learnt about the reasons for constructing the maze and how the brains were being studied than simply how the Flare started up.

One thought on “Review: The Kill Order by James Dashner

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

