Review

Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Pages: 320
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Age Level: Young Adult
Source: Library

Each night at precisely 4:33 am, while sixteen-year-old London Lane is asleep, her memory of that day is erased. In the morning, all she can “remember” are events from her future. London is used to relying on reminder notes and a trusted friend to get through the day, but things get complicated when a new boy at school enters the picture. Luke Henry is not someone you’d easily forget, yet try as she might, London can’t find him in her memories of things to come.

When London starts experiencing disturbing flashbacks, or flash-forwards, as the case may be, she realizes it’s time to learn about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.

3/5

I have mixed feelings about this book. There were some things I loved and some things I disliked.

Let’s start with the positive. I really liked the whole concept of the book. It was unique and definitely created an interesting book. London’s condition was presented in such a way that you could understand how she felt waking up each day with no recollection of the past.

The writing style was very simple and easy to follow and kept me coming back for more; I practically had to force myself to put the book down each night. I was able to imagine London’s life and all the people she interacted with.

The whole “flash-forward” thing was creepy and was presented like a mystery; each vision gave her a different piece of the puzzle.

The part just before the ending was seriously creepy and gave me goosebumps. The ending itself summed everything up neatly, and though I am not usually a fan of these kind of endings, with Forgotten it really worked.

Let’s move on to the negative. I know I shouldn’t judge people based on first impressions, but I couldn’t help it in this case. London seemed slightly snobby to me, caring only about clothes, her social life and boys.

As the story progressed I began to see London in a completely different light, but I was still unable to connect with her. It felt like I more like I was reading someone’s story that actually being inside London’s head.

Luke, London’s boyfriend was just too perfect. His only flaw seemed to be caring about London a little too much.  Their relationship was instant and never escalated beyond cute, and as this was a major part of the book I kept hoping it would improve, but it didn’t.

Also, London never really seemed to think about how her condition would affect her later on in life. It never seemed to bother her that she’d never be able to remember the things she’d done.

I’ll definitely be looking forward to reading Cat Patrick’s other books.

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

