Uncategorized

2012 Book Survey

2012 book surveyHosted by Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner

Best In Books 2012

*All book Titles link to the goodreads page

1. Best Book You Read In 2012? 

The Night Circus is one of the few books I was truly unable to put down and the story lasted beyond the pages of the book. The writing is also gorgeous and highly inspirational, leading to an unforgettable read.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Guardian of the Dead. It had such an interesting premise but just fell flat for me. The characters were completely unrelatable and annoying. Plus, every time the plot picked up it just nosedived. Even thinking about this book is giving me bad vibes.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012? 

The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater. I had  low expectations coming into this book as I loved the Scorpio Races and didn’t think anything could be as good. Well, I was wrong. I really connected with The Raven Boys and lost myself in the quest.

 4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?

Night Circus. I’m the kind of person that believes in sharing my favourite books with others, so I recommended this one a lot.

 5. Best series you discovered in 2012?

I think it would have to be the Amulet series. I know its not a book, but I can stretch this, right? Anyways, I wanted to try graphic novels/manga and these books are amazing! They have such great plots, world-building and characters and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

 6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2012?

Kazu Kibuishi for Amulet, Copper and Flight. Cutest and funnest adventures ever plus amazing illustrations.

Michael Ondaatje for The Cat’s Table. His writing is beautiful, inspiring and memorable.

Erin Morgenstern for The Night Circus. I would probably read anything Morgenstern writes because she has some serious talent for writing.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

All my Sons by Arthur Miller. I do not usually read plays or fiction of this type, but I really enjoyed this one. It was quite moving and made me question many things.

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?

A Hero for Wondla. This is easily my favourite middle grade series and this book ranks on my list of my favourite books of all time. It was thought provoking and intense and took me on an unforgettable journey.

 9. Book You Read In 2012 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:

The Night Circus. I have already sung praise for both the book and the author above, but I don’t mind repeating myself. I can’t wait to lose myself in the world of the circus once more.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2012?

guardian

Though this book disappointed me, I love the cover. It is dark and creepy and just sucks you in. Too bad the book didn’t like up to its standards.

11. Most memorable character in 2012? 

I’ll have to say Gansey from The Raven Boys. He was such a real character that I could imagine bumping into him in the street one day. I was able to connect with his quest and longing for adventure and the way he’ll believe just about anything. He was just such a fascinating character and I want to learn more about him.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?

This one’s easy – The Cat’s Table. You’ll be seeing some quotes from it coming up soon.  The writing was simple yet thought-provoking and every word had a purpose.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012? 

Possibly the Cat’s Table.  This book did not impact me in the traditional sense. It did not make me cry or laugh but it did make me smile when I’d finished it. The story just lives on inside me and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forget it. It made me look at life and the world differently.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read? 

Shatter Me. I adored the writing style and the characters and plot intrigued me. It was a great read and I am highly anticipating the sequel.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2012? 

From Erratum:

…what if everything that we see, everything that seems real- what if it was not real?…What if the stuff that was real was somehow hidden?

 From The Cat’s Table:

There is a story, always ahead of you. Barely existing. Only gradually do you attach yourself to it and feed it. You discover the carapace that will contain and test your character. You will find in this way the path of your life.

From Shatter Me:

I spent my life folded between the pages of books.
In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.

From The Raven Boys:

She recognized the strange happiness that came from loving something without knowing why you did, that strange happiness that was sometimes so big it felt like sadness. It was the way she felt when she looked at the stars.

I love quotations <3

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012? 

Longest: Gone at 558 pages

Shortest: Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats at 56 pages

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

The ending of Variant. Soooo creepy! It gave me chills.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Will and Tessa in the Infernal Devices. I feel that I will be bawling my eyes out of Clockwork Princess because their relationship is ruining me. If they don’t end up together, I don’t know what I’ll do.

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2012 From An Author You Read Previously

Seeds of Rebellion by Brandon Mull. Yet another great middle grade series, jam-packed with action and adventure.

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

The Princess Bride. I’d heard good things about this book but I kept going meh, it doesn’t sound like something I’ll like. But after pressure from a friend I ended up reading it and really enjoyed it.

I love hearing from you and will always reply!

